Question from a couple looking to teach abroad

lafillesteph

Question from a couple looking to teach abroad

Post by lafillesteph »

Hello! I have a question for you all regarding opportunities to work abroad - I have searched through this forum and found really helpful information, but I thought it would be valuable to get advice on my particular situation.

I am finishing up a graduate program in Secondary School Counseling this year. I registered with Search Associates to apply for school counseling jobs abroad next year. I'm aware that I do not have the 2+ years of experience, but I have spoken with my associate, Sally Gordon, about my past experience and she believes it will be sufficient to obtain a job. I have a lot of experience working with students, including a year spent teaching English in France, and also a year spent serving with AmeriCorps working with students at-risk of dropping out of high school.

My boyfriend has a BA in Journalism but has been working in health insurance for the past few years. He absolutely hates it and desperately wants a change in his life. He is strongly considering teaching, specifically a high school social studies teacher. He registered with Search Associates too as an intern. The only problem is, he does not have any teaching experience. Would you recommend that he begin a teaching certification program online to become more marketable, so interning abroad could be his student teaching? Would recruiters look more favorably on him if he is already enrolled in a program? Or do you think he would fare betting obtaining a TEFL/CELTA certification and teaching ESL for a year?

I apologize for the long post - I am just trying to collect as much information and perspectives as possible on working abroad, so any feedback you can provide would be incredibly appreciated!

Thank you :D

Stephanie
mathgym

Post by mathgym »

Stephanie,