Single parents teaching abroad

yelsol

Single parents teaching abroad

Post by yelsol »

I currently teach in the US and am looking to teach at an IS school abroad. I have a 6 year old who would be coming with me. I'm well aware of difficulties and wonders of single parenting (because I've been doing it for the last 6 years) but I'm interested in hearing about how that translates to living and teaching abroad.
Glerky

Post by Glerky »

Every international school has a different policy for free tuition for dependents but many have a one teacher - one tuition policy. I don't think this will hold you back at all.
adminpaul

kids overseas

Post by adminpaul »

Here's an ISR article written by a single-expat-mom overseas and an ISR blog about raising kids overseas that you may find helpful

http://www.internationalschoolsreview.c ... le_mom.htm

http://internationalschoolsreviewdiscus ... with-kids/
DCgirl

Post by DCgirl »

I find single parenting a lot easier because I have help that I couldn't afford at home. I have a live-in helper so I can stay later at work if necessary and I can also have more of a social life. Having dinner ready when I get home and the dishes washed afterwards has been one of the greatest gifts that life has given me.

The challenges the same ones that I had at home.My daughter finds it a bit embarrassing because almost all of the kids in her class are in 2-parent households. It's just required some extra conversations that we probably would have needed to have in the US as well.

Absolutely no regrets.
inman

Post by inman »

I have absolute respect for single parents living in international teaching. Single parenting is a huge task on its own anyway, but to look the challenges straight on and say "Let's get on and do something different and exciting internationally anyway" is very commendable.