What Is A Good Salary?

Laptop

What Is A Good Salary?

Post by Laptop »

I am a teacher with 20 years teaching experience yet I am new to the International School scene.

I have just come back from a job fair and have been offered a teaching position in the Middle East for $30,000 no taxes, plus free housing. free school transport. Is this a good salary? I have no idea. Should I be grateful or should I throw the contract back at the Director?

I need to make a decision soon.
Ottoman

What is a good salary?

Post by Ottoman »

$30,000 with no tax, no housing expenses, and no transport to worry about, sounds fair. You would get a better salary in Saudi Arabia or in some of the SE Asian schools, but it does not mean that you will have a better teaching experience. Money doesn't really mean much if you are miserable at the school, but on balance I would say that $30k with fringe benefits is okay.

Don't forget to ask for the health insurance and the yearly flights home?
solarhamster

Post by solarhamster »

The 30.000 dollar salary could not be enough if the school is in Dubai, as the cost of living has risen something like 140% over the past 5 years. I had an offer there, but turned them down once I figured I wouln't be saving much due to the costs.
JISAlum

Post by JISAlum »

[quote="solarhamster"].....as the cost of living has risen something like 140% over the past 5 years. I had an offer there, but turned them down once I figured I wouln't be saving much due to the costs.[/quote]

The cost of living can have a big influence. My wife and I lived in Singapore and while housing was provided, that was counted as a benefit towards our US taxes. We ended up no having to owe any US taxes as we paid Singapore taxes.

A couple of good resources for cost of living are at:

http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/steccpi.html#compint

I'm sure there are other/better resources as well.
neveah

Re: What Is A Good Salary?

Post by neveah »