Aspiring teacher looking for advice on teaching in China

mrstranger

Aspiring teacher looking for advice on teaching in China

Post by mrstranger »

Hello everybody, hope you guys have some sound advice for me.

I am Brazilian and next month I'll turn 27. I recently got my bachelor's degree in engineering and right now I'm deciding what to do with my life. The idea of working as an IT came up and I've been considering it ever since. During my graduation I did an exchange in China for 2 years, in which I studied Mandarin Chinese in the first year and engineering in the second one. My second year was at Zhejiang University, which is highly renowned in China. In my country, since I have an engineering degree I can pursuit a teaching license for math and physics that takes only 7 months, and during that time I might be able to find work as a assistant teacher at a local school (math, physics and english). My english is pretty decent (standard accent) and I intend to take the IELTS exam later this year as well as the HSK 6 for Mandarin.

My objective if viable is to teach at an IS in China, and as I have read in many posts here, it is the place to go if you are an inexperienced teacher. I don't mind starting at a lower tier IS and in the first years the work experience would be more important than salary. As for the visa, under the new rules for the Z type visa I can barely score over 60 points and that depends on some parameters.

So, under the following scenario:

Non-native english speaker
B.Sc in engineering
Math teaching license
2 years experience in China (at good universities)
High IELTS score
HSK 6
6 months teaching experience
Caucasian "western look" (can't ignore this when talking about East Asia)

1. Realistically speaking, what are my chances of landing an IT job in China in early 2019? I guess this is the most important question because if the chances are not high enough then it's just not worth it.