AASSA

worldtravel

AASSA

Post by worldtravel »

Hi. I am new to all of this, but I find this board quite informative.

I have sent my resumes around to various schools in SA and had little response. Should I register for the AASSA fair? I was under the impression that I should have invites to interview before I go there.

About how many people attend this fair?
Saiyara

Post by Saiyara »

I'd really like to see some responses to this post, also. I have posted questions about South & Central American schools but no one ever seems to reply. I know that those countries make up only a small percentage of intl schools out there but surely some people on this board could share their insight. I'll cross my fingers and keeping checking.
fran

Attending a conference

Post by fran »

I worked in South America and in Central America. My experience has been that AASSA is the best place to find a position and that most schools do not seem to respond to emails. It appears that the ads they post are just there to announce what is available but in the end they really want to meet you and the conference is the best place.
Saiyara

Post by Saiyara »

Fran,
Would you mind posting the schools you worked at in C & S America and your thoughts on them? Thanks.
fran

School I worked at

Post by fran »

I worked in Guatemala and I'm sure the school has changed. Both schools were an excellent experience. I love Latin America and have never had a safety problem. Yes, people get robbed and pick pocketed but that happens in the States, as well.

What country are you considering working in?
worldtravel

So ... I just show up?

Post by worldtravel »

So then, if I don't hear anything ... I just show up to the fair? What happens then?

Are many hirings made at this fair or do they hold out until after the Feb. fairs?
Saiyara

Post by Saiyara »