Living in Bangkok/negotiating pay

damok

Living in Bangkok/negotiating pay

Post by damok »

So I have been offered my first international teaching job. The contract is still yet to be negotiated and won't be finalised until Jan-Feb but at this stage they have said either 70,000 baht or 80,000 baht. Sadly, there is no housing allowance or really any other benefits. It's a bit of a weird situation. I got the job through a friend put me on to an admin who works there who was very keen on the recommendation my friend gave me. This admin says that I should be able to get 80,000baht. Being Australian, all teachers wages are government/union mandated so I have never had to negotiate a contract before.

Does anyone have any tips for negotiating pay? I have a masters degree from one of the better universities in Australia and three years teaching experience. No international teaching experience.

I was thinking of trying for 90,000 baht a month plus a yearly plane ticket home/them covering my ticket there (happy to fly a cheap airline). It seems likes I'm pretty sure housing allowance is out of the question. How do you go about negotiating a salary? Any tips? They did seem very keen to have me and pretty much offered me the job during the skype interview.

LIVING IN BANGKOK.

Some more general questions.

I was thinking of moving to Bangkok a month before starting, just so I can get settled in and enjoy myself. I have been to Bangkok a few times before so I am reasonably familiar with the city.