Student Loan Payments

ibrahim123

Student Loan Payments

Post by ibrahim123 »

I am new to the International Teaching circuit and in my 20s with over 40K in student loan debt. I wanted advice if it is worth trying to pay off my student loans with the excess money from an international teaching career or if I should just continue to pay the minimum until . . .
Flyingpigs

Re: Student Loan Payments

Post by Flyingpigs »

Debt is always a good thing to pay off, no? Less time on the debt, less interest, less cost in the long run.
Why not wait until you get a job, see what you are bringing home, and see if you can afford to pay more into the debt. Even an extra 100$ or so a month makes a difference.
josephine

Post by josephine »

My advice is to pay it off as soon as possible, especially before starting a family. No fun having that ball & chain when you have a family to take care of...
ibrahim123

Post by ibrahim123 »

Thank you for the advice. I am the first in my family to go to college so this is brand new to me and most of the people in my networks (who are also first geners).

I am glad I asked.
josephine

Post by josephine »

Depending on your type of loans, you may be eligible for repayment assistance programs. There is one in the US for federal loans, called the public service loan forgiveness. After 10 years of on-time payments during work with a US based public service agency (such as a public school) all remaining loans are forgiven. Good option if you don't get an international job paying high enough. Also remember to always ask your provider if there are any interest rate deductions available (for paying on time, automatic payments, etc). All the best
optimistia

Post by optimistia »