Who's had interviews?

Bellarex

Who's had interviews?

Post by Bellarex »

I'm still getting a feel for what's typical in a recruiting season.. just out of curiosity, who's had interviews here and what's your teaching area?

Any elementary teachers (not attached to a higher demand teacher) had any interviews or landed any jobs yet?
koreaj

Post by koreaj »

My wife and I have had 3 interviews so far via Skype and are scheduled to have second round interviews with two of the schools this week and early next week.

My wife is an elementary teacher and I am a MS/HS History/Social Studies teacher. Not high demand areas, though we have been teaching internationally for 6 years in elementary schools (I've been teaching either G5 or G6 during this time, not secondary). We also both have extensive ESL experience prior to becoming teachers. My wife has been in leadership roles for 4 of her 6 years teaching.

With that background, we have been surprised with having had three interviews before the Search Fair in January. Two of the schools have interviewed me for both middle school social studies and Grade 5 at the same time.

Fingers crossed something comes of the interviews.
Cheery Littlebottom

Post by Cheery Littlebottom »

Hi All
We interviewed with Jakarta International and IS Bangkok during the last week. This morning we accepted jobs with JIS. We are thrilled.
Good luck to everyone recruiting.
Cheery XXXX
Bellarex

Post by Bellarex »

That's awesome!! Congratulations!
newchapter

Post by newchapter »

So now I'm really depressed...lol
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Newchapter - don't be. There are a few reasons schools are interviewing now.

A. They have a candidate application that is stellar, or hits all their ticky boxes for a particular position. They want to lock that candidate in.

B. They are a school where the director hates recruiting and just wants it done.