Can. teacher (F), Filipino spouse (M) + kid. where to go?

jessolo

Can. teacher (F), Filipino spouse (M) + kid. where to go?

Post by jessolo »

I'm a Canadian teacher with a BEd and a MEd (specialization TESOL). I'm married to a Filipino chef and we have 1 son. I've been teaching in South Korea for 8 years mostly in universities. I'm not thrilled with the education system here though and we can't afford sending our son to an international school so the time has come to look for somewhere else.

I've been reading through the posts on the forums but I'd like some suggestions. We're well aware that due to my husband's nationality he may not be able to work but I never considered that because he is male he may not be able to get a dependent visa some places. If he can work that would be a great bonus!

Basically we're looking for some place where our son can get a good education (though I'm not against home schooling if the need arises). Where he can play outside with his friends. Time off to travel a bit. Ability to save a bit (I'd like to retire some day!) and safe.

Brunei was recommended to us but I've heard things aren't as good as they used to be and my husband wont be able to work. And Dubai was also suggested. My husband might be able to get into a hotel there but I'm not so sure its a great place for a kid to grow up. Any suggestions?
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

Whats your definition of a "good education" for your son?

Since this seems to be your motivation, I hope you have REALLY laxed standards. The ESOL field doesnt pay well globally but the gap between IT and ESOL is much narrower in S.K.

There are 2 big issues/challenges for you: