Single with one dependent

justateacher

Single with one dependent

Post by justateacher »

i am in the midst of trying to find a new job. i have a masters, 20yrs of experience, including some international school experience (though no IB).

i haven't attended a fair yet because i was advised that being a less attractive candidate i should wait. i am not sure if that was good advice or not (it came from admin).

any thoughts on what i should try to do? i may attend ISS san fran or Search london in the spring but i am starting to worry that i should have gone earlier.

any thoughts? advice?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Single with one dependent

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

[quote="justateacher"]i am in the midst of trying to find a new job. i have a masters, 20yrs of experience, including some international school experience (though no IB).

i haven't attended a fair yet because i was advised that being a less attractive candidate i should wait. i am not sure if that was good advice or not (it came from admin).

any thoughts on what i should try to do? i may attend ISS san fran or Search london in the spring but i am starting to worry that i should have gone earlier.

any thoughts? advice?[/quote]
----------------------------------------------
What would make you a less attractive candidate? Your admin may have been giving you what he thought was sound advice or he may have had an agenda.
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

What do you teach? Did you sign up with Search? Did you ask your Associate for an invite to say, Bangkok, which is for teachers deemed to be strong candidates?

I had never been to a job fair, have 20+ years experience and a trailing spouse...and in the end, I applied and was accepted for Bangkok...

Don't let admin tell YOU what you are or are not - that is why you pay Search, so your associate can advise you honestly.
PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »

Your admin doesnt want to lose you!