Still looking

Moonshine

Still looking

Post by Moonshine »

So I went to the January Bangkok fair, and didn't get an offer. I've had a couple of Skype interviews since then, and nothing so far. I have nine years experience, international experience, but no IB experience, which is not helping things. What I've noticed is that some of the jobs I applied for and had interviews for, are still available. So ...what's the deal? When exactly do they fill these positions? I'm going back to the March Bangkok fair, but I'm worried that this fair is a bit too late. Any thoughts? The Bangkok job fair in January was depressing ...it seemed like the majority of people I talked to did not get offers.
Mathman

Post by Mathman »

I'm in a similar position and I have IB experience. Either I suck at interviews now, or the recruiters want to wait for someone cheaper. I have 3 dependents which turn them off.

Also had quite a bit of bad luck. One excellent school wanted me, but really needed somebody else's wife. I entered an interview for a position they had already offered at least twice. A few schools already offered people with dependents previously so can't afford me. And finally my favorite and most recent, I was their first choice, but they offered the position to some guy as a local hire. Economy in the USA must really sucksince he accepted.

I guess I might see you at Bangkok
ChoirGuy

Post by ChoirGuy »

I have IB experience (9 years), have been a HOD (13 years), but all in a British system; I also have 3 dependents, though (wife and 2 children), and think this might be why schools are waiting. I would love to get into ISManila for a Director position, but have been told "if you wife doesn't have a teaching degree (she DOES have 5 years teaching EXPERIENCE in Mandarin), it's not likely the school will even look at me" (this from their HR department)
Keep looking and keep hoping!
PsyGuy

Interpretation

Post by PsyGuy »