The difference b/n the Big recruitment companies and Dave's

vaellteacher

The difference b/n the Big recruitment companies and Dave's

Post by vaellteacher »

:?
Last edited by vaellteacher on Sun May 06, 2012 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
wrldtrvlr123

Re: The difference b/n the Big recruitment companies and Dav

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

[quote="vaellteacher"]I have another question; I am new at this so please forgive the ignorance. When I went to college (years ago) for ELL I guess I thought ELL was a very big business overseas and when I joined ISS I noticed how small the amount of job offers there were in this field. Yet when I go to Dave’s ELL café website I notice how many ELL jobs are out there and when I put our (my husband is a SS teacher) interest letter on the website, at least 10 ELL recruiters wanted my correspondence. Now I know, just like all businesses, they want our money, what I don’t understand is the high demand. Is it b/c ISS schools are just so different that the ones looking for ELL jobs, smaller schools with less money? I did notice that these ELL schools want you to get your own visas while ISS package has that covered. Or maybe it is just something else altogether and I am not understanding the discrepancy. Do I bother with these smaller recruiters who are contacting me?
I am freaking out (as I noticed other posts) that we have not heard anything from all of the submitted interests we put out there to the international schools. I realize that market is tough and competitive and I am going to take PsyGuys advice and present our resumes on resume paper and be very, extremely likable when we interview in Boston. Which hopefully we will.
Thanks in advance for any advice or answers.[/quote]

I think that the difference (if I'm understanding you) is that those ELL schools are not international schools. Those kinds of jobs/schools are more plentiful, but the number of dodgy schools and less then great positions are also more plentiful.