Tieonline Teaching Jobs

musings28

Tieonline Teaching Jobs

Post by musings28 »

How is the TIE service?

Registering with Search is 225$ Canadian (gives you access to one Fair, and 3 year membership and help from an associate), with TIE it's only 39$ and apparently gives you access to loads of schools as well, you can upload your CV, etc.

Any successful TIE stories out there? Is this service just as good or worse than ISS or Search?

Thanks!
markholmes

Post by markholmes »

I had a couple of bites from schools I probably wouldn't work in earlier this year. I also had interest from a fairly decent school in Southeast Asia. It didn't work out, but the principal said he would be interested in receiving my resume the next time I'm looking. I have no post-grad experience, other than substitute work, so I was quite happy with the response.

I liked the fact that I could attach a video to my TIE resume and also link it to my teaching website. It gave me a bit of room to be creative.

I've never used Search, but once my first contract is done (starting in August), I'll probably sign up for Search and renew my subscription to TIE as well. I think it's worth the money.
musings28

Post by musings28 »

Thanks for the answer, Mark.

I'm signing up with SEARCH, but wouldn't mind trying TIE on the side either, as it's only 40 bucks.
Rutabaga

Post by Rutabaga »

I found that when used TIE, I got no replies from schools. I then signed up for Search and many of the same schools that had previously ignored me were suddenly interested in me. So for me, using Search was worth it.
DCgirl

Post by DCgirl »

I would use both. I sent out a lot of resumes through TIE and did have a few telephone and Skype interviews. I would recommend Search. The database is way more extensive, you get more valuable information on the schools and you can attend a fair for the registration cost.
musings28

Post by musings28 »

Hmmm...good to know! Feeling good about SEARCH...
heyteach

Post by heyteach »