new here and interested in teaching overseas

leeannpal

new here and interested in teaching overseas

Post by leeannpal »

[size=12][/size]Hi everyone,

I am currently a middle school teacher in Georgia and am considering looking for an overseas position. I am renewing my certificate at this point, and should have it up to date, but not until the early summer. I do have internationl school experience in South Korea and Portugal from several years ago.

I've already filled out an application on the DODEA website, as that is really the route I would like to go, but I have heard that it is competitive.

I have an 8 year old daughter and a husband who is not a certified teacher. Our situation may be a little unique because my husband is in seminary, and he wants to be a pastor/missionary overseas. We will work to support ourselves. He has ESL overseas teaching experience in Korea, and is a veteran who has worked as a civilian on military bases overseas before.

My questions are about applying to individual American schools overseas vs. Dodds. Would I be able to find a school that would provide housing and insurance for all three of us? I believe my husband could get work as an ESL teacher almost anywhere with a work visa, but he would need insurance. I know we would most likely have to pay his airfare. Are there any schools that do pay for more than one dependant's airfare? Ad finally, does anyone know if I sound like a good fit for the Dodds system?
wrldtrvlr123

Int'l or DoDDS

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Hi:

You sound like a fine fit for DoDDS, but getting in with them is like hitting the lottery. You can't win if you don't play, but don't hold your breath or plan a life around it.