Resume website or creative CVs: helpful or harmful?

FabFour

Resume website or creative CVs: helpful or harmful?

Post by FabFour »

For any of you who have ever been in a position to hire: what is your opinion on creative resumes, like a classy infographic? (Example here... really wish I could hyperlink: https://masterbundles.com/wp-content/up ... oad-90.jpg)

What about a resume website (in addition to the paper one of course)? https://business.tutsplus.com/articles/ ... -cms-25761

I am a visually creative teacher (science, not art) and these approaches represent my style very well. I'd also love to create a short video about my teaching style and classroom culture. It probably depends on the eye of the beholder, but in general, are these viewed as obnoxious or helpful?

Also, your thoughts on photos on resumes? I've read that they're abhorred in the US/Can/UK, but encouraged in Europe and Asia.

Thanks for your input.
Heliotrope

Re: Resume website or creative CVs: helpful or harmful?

Post by Heliotrope »

I'd urge you to post this question on forum 1: viewforum.php?f=1
It gets a lot more traffic than this one (forum 2).
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

In IE what you are hinting at is called an Ichiro. An Ichiro is named after a long lost member of the forum, who was a very valuable contributor, much like the Reisgio effect.
An Ichiro is essentially an alternative resume to describe marketing any type of flashy/gimmicky/creative method of introducing yourself to recruiters. It would generally involve color photos of you teaching, amazing students projects, etc and a more limited amount of text. Some people go all out and mimic advertising flyers, brochures, wanted posters etc (kind of a high risk/high reward approach).