Teaching math/science at universities abroad?

boss14

Teaching math/science at universities abroad?

Post by boss14 »

I have a master's in STEM in the US and I think teaching math or science at a university may be for me because I've taught as a TA in grad school for 2 years. I also think I might like teaching at a university better than at an international school teaching kids/high schoolers because I won't have to deal with brats, parents complaining, unsupportive admin, etc. I'm interested in teaching in Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan and China. I'll also consider Europe and South America. I have some questions

1. What countries would be willing to hire me right now, given that I have an MS but I don't have any teaching licenses/credentials and don't want to spend another year getting a Master's in Education?

2. How common is it to end up teaching at a place with toxic conditions?

3. I heard university jobs are only around 20 hours/week. Is it common to teach multiple univ teaching jobs? how much of the time is spent with students, preparing lessons, dealing with coworker teachers and politics, and other time?

4. How does it compare to typical office jobs in the US? Do you still feel like your job is soulless and you're just a cog in the machine? Is univ teaching abroad really stressful, even more so than than most professions?

5. Would you say university teachers are more/less miserable than other people you know?

6. What are the long-term career paths I could get into after starting off teaching?

7. Do you get the same benefits of yearly tickets home, housing allowance, and 11-14 weeks of vacation a year that international school teachers get?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

First, being a TA is very different from being the faculty of record in a Uni, well its not very different, but its different enough.