Art Teacher with trailing spouse

MakeAMessArt

Art Teacher with trailing spouse

Post by MakeAMessArt »

Hi all- I'm new to the international school scene and looking for some advice and information. I've tried to read through many previous posts but am still curious about specifics to my situation.

I am an elementary and middle school art teacher with four years of experience, though two of those years were as a third grade classroom teacher. I'm fully certified of course, and have a BA in Art and an MEd in elementary education.

I have a trailing husband who will be writing up his PhD, which means he will be very busy no matter where we are. I also have a trailing dog.

We are very open in terms of location, just looking for a foot in the door! I would prefer to teach art (and seem to have found quite a few openings) but would also teach lower elementary. I've signed up with Search Associates and have contacted MANY schools either via their website or directly (depending on the instructions on the school website). I was only activated last week so I know I'm a bit late to the game.

Questions:

1. Do I have any chance of finding a position? I see a lot of elementary art jobs in the SA database but I assume that also means there are a lot of candidates.
2. How long is average for a school to get back to you to set up a Skype interview? Weeks? Months? Give me some hope here...
3. I requested an invite to an SA fair but haven't heard back from my associate since I was activated. Is it too late to get to a fair for this cycle?
4. I was contacted by a school that I'm not really interested in to have a Skype interview. The school seems pretty new and I just don't think our philosophies will be a good fit. Is being contacted a good sign? I agreed to interview to see what's out there and for practice, but I can't decide if it is a promising sign or disappointing.
5. Any other advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance
wrldtrvlr123