Need Advice for finding best teaching job

law_leslie

Need Advice for finding best teaching job

Post by law_leslie »

I really wasn't sure what to put in the subject line but that is essentially what I need help with. First let me explain that I am new to the teaching profession but have lived overseas for quite some time and hope to continue which is why I am new to the teaching profession.

I am originally an attorney by trade and practice and have both a Bachelors of Science and Juris Doctorate degree from US schools. Recently I have felt the pull to be a teacher to secondary students. This past summer I took a Professional Knowledge test (because of my doctorate) and passed therefore being issued a teaching certificate from the US. Now I am going to get my Masters in Secondary Education from a US university. I have decided to focus on the Masters program that will allow me to be certified to teach dual credit (both HS and College credit) courses.

My question is what should I focus on for the minor content portion of my Masters degree? I have spoken to my friends in the international school community and they suggested that both Math and Science teachers are more in demand than English and Social Studies. While I am good at Math and Science and am sure I could teach it that is not really my passion - I am more geared towards research and writing, government, and public speaking.

Knowing those things what do you think, with my background, would be best to make me a good candidate for hiring at an international school? My friend suggested I ask this to the forum thinking you guys might be able to provide me some helpful advice.

Thanks.
shadowjack

Re: Need Advice for finding best teaching job

Post by shadowjack »

My first question, to be blunt, is, "What do you teach?" My second question is, "How long have you been teaching it?"