A week after interview and still no answer, normal?

Novice

A week after interview and still no answer, normal?

Post by Novice »

I was short-listed, then skyped and finally interviewed last week. The principal told me I was a firm candidate and that they would let me know within a week if I had been successful, however it has been a week and I haven't received an email or a phone call from the school yet. Is this normal? Do international schools ring you to tell you the outcome of their decision? Should I call/ email them asking them if they have recruited for the position? I am well qualified, I have a good degree, PGCE, MSc and experience being educated and working overseas. I just started seriously looking for jobs abroad after 5 years teaching A level and GCSE in the UK. Any comments, suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.
Nomads

Re: A week after interview and still no answer, normal?

Post by Nomads »

Schools almost always contact the finalists with the outcome generally with an emailIf it has gone past a week they may have offered the position to another candidate and are waiting to her the other person's decision.

You can contact them if you want, but they obviously have your information and will contact you if they want to offer you a position.
Bellarex

Post by Bellarex »

This happened to me on two separate occasions this recruiting season. With one school, they told me that they would know the direction they were taking by the first third of January, and even gave me a friendly "just so you know, we're still working on it" message via skype. A week after the date he gave me, I made my "inquiry" by politely thanking them for connecting me with a teacher who helped answer questions for me. The principal got back with me to say that they were still looking. In the end, they held off too long and we had already accepted positions. I don't think we were going to be offered contracts, but who knows.