Which Fairs To Choose?

FrenchyTeacher

Which Fairs To Choose?

Post by FrenchyTeacher »

I've read all of the postings on the pluses and minuses of ISS, Search, and UNI. I'm asking for some advice from those of you who have been through the fair circuit before. I have never done this before.

Do you select one recruitment agency and hope to find a good position? Or do you select 2 or more (spending lots of bucks, I'm sure) and go to several fairs? I think I have strong qualifications (French, Spanish certified, 20 yrs exp, advanced degrees, National Board Cert., lots of interests, etc.).

If you attend 2 or more fairs, how do you go about selecting a job? Do you wait to attend all the fairs and pick the best offer? For example, if at the UNI Fair in early Feb, I get a good offer, should I hold out to attend one of the other fairs to make sure I'm making the best choice? Do schools give you a few weeks to decide to sign a contract, or do you get pressured into making a decision right away?

I was thinking of doing 2 or 3 recruitment agences (UNI, Search, ISS) and going to their fairs. But I was unsure if one could attend all three and then make a selection from the offers. Help!

Frenchy Teacher
been there

which fair?

Post by been there »

The recruiting season is not only intense for teachers - it is also very intense for recruiters. Some go to numerous fairs, some are limited by budget or board to attend only a few. It would be rare to find a director willing to wait until you attend several fairs and make up your mind. With your credentials and experience, you should easily find a position at one fair - so it becomes a choice of which fair best represents the types of schools you want to go to?