First time International School teaching

Aoibhneas

First time International School teaching

Post by Aoibhneas »

Hi There, I am an Irish primary school teacher with almost 20 years experience and I am also a qualified counselor and psychotherapist and considering going abroad teaching for school year '25/26(possibily 2 years) with my four year old son, we are a mum and kid family. I am looking at countries which would be good for saving money(but I don't want to go to UAE, China, Japan). I'd like to go to Thailand but it doesn't look like I'd earn a lot and I don't want to live in a Bangkok. I am also looking at Singapore-is the tax very low?Seems strong expat community and safe.I would like a sunnier climate and the chance to travel to interesting places as well as save money. I would be open to Africa as I spent lots of time there but I'm not sure about the money.Caribbean doesn't seem to offer accomodation and I would need school to offer an allowance for this and school place for my child. Do schools ask for IB training? Would my chances of getting a job be higher if I did some courses in this? Thank you in advance!
sciteach

Re: First time International School teaching

Post by sciteach »

I'll add some general comments below. Take them with a grain of salt and others are free to add or refute as they see fit.

(1) Experience / Qualifications

You have 20 years experience, which means you know what you are doing. You do unfortunately teach a subject (elementary teaching) which has much more teacher availability compared to other subjects. If you are a male - then this should potentially give you a lift due to the lack of male elementary teachers in general. Every school is different though.

(2) Your living situation