How many applications do you receive for a position?

coughingfurballs

How many applications do you receive for a position?

Post by coughingfurballs »

If you are involved in recruitment, approximately how many applications do you receive for a position?

Specifically, how many for an IB English position? And how many of those applications are from viable candidates?

I have 10 years of experience with IB DP and am looking to move on, but haven't received any response to the 5 positions I've applied for so far. I've been at my current international school for 5 years, and my previous international for 5 years, with 2 years before that in the UK.

I'm assuming Europe is the most competitive region? What about Saudi?

I've applied to three posts in Europe and two in Saudi. I've been using the TES, but perhaps should sign up for SEARCH as well?
sciteach

Re: How many applications do you receive for a position?

Post by sciteach »

Are you looking for details of now or later in the employment window?

If it's for now (employing for July 2024) - then almost no schools will be deep into their recruitment process. This is especially true for positions such as English or I & S which have a large number of teachers looking for positions. HL Math or Physics is another story though.

This is not directly relevant for you this year - but can give you a snapshot of the different amount of people applying. I was interviewing for a Science job at one of the minor Search Associate fairs early in the window. It was a high quality school which also wanted to interview at Bangkok, London and Cambridge. They told me that they had over 110 people apply for an I & S position but only 8 for the Science position I applied for. That was a couple of years ago prior to covid.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »