Switching curriculums? Pros and Cons?

jamcdona

Switching curriculums? Pros and Cons?

Post by jamcdona »

Hello all!

I’m a certified US teacher (7 years in the States, 8 years in total) in Elementary Ed and ESL. I’m currently teaching at an international school with an American curriculum. I’m looking at options for the 24-25 year in another country but beyond the 1-2 quality American curriculum schools, most of the other schools are British, Australian, Canadian or IB.

What are the pros and cons of switching to a different school with a different curriculum? Is it challenging? Easy?

Do schools/admin have a preference when hiring someone from a different curriculum background? Thanks!
AA2024

Re: Switching curriculums? Pros and Cons?

Post by AA2024 »

I've found that we Americans tend to be in the minority when it comes to international teaching. Most schools are happy therefore to have Americans around because of that alone. Where I currently work the American staff I would say only make up 5% of the international teachers. Most are overwhelmingly from the United Kingdom.

I've been teaching the Cambridge Curriculum for a few years now. Honestly never found it that difficult besides the occasional spelling differences. I teach elementary school, but I imagine if your focus is in math for higher grades having to learn the metric system could be annoying, but totally manageable.
cms989

Post by cms989 »

It depends. If you are building something from scratch to fit a new curriculum, it's a lot more work (e.g. a school that does MYP but has no materials for you). But if you are walking into a fully developed yearlong course that follows a new curriculum . . not that challenging. At the end of the day the objectives are going to be mostly the same just maybe organized differently and called something else.