chances of landing a teaching job in W Europe

jboeh2

chances of landing a teaching job in W Europe

Post by jboeh2 »

Hi,

I wanted to ask about my chances of landing a teaching job in western Europe (specifically the Netherlands, if possible). I hold a Masters degree, with 10 yrs teaching experience (5 years in IB schools). I have taught both as a classroom teacher, as well as Special Ed. (Primary). I have a trailing spouse (From the EU) and 2 children. I know the benefits won't be as good as in Asia, yet are looking at moving closer to family.

Thanks
J
jack4397

Re: chances of landing a teaching job in W Europe

Post by jack4397 »

Chances of landing a job are high, Chances of that job paying a reasonable amount, giving your kids 100% off tuition and covering any post-Brexit visa fees you may have to pay are low.
jboeh2

Post by jboeh2 »

Thanks @jack4397

My wife and kids both hold passports from the Netherlands. I'm not sure if that would help lessen the tax burden. These factors have kept us from moving to Europe, yet we'd really like to settle there, so might just take what comes...
Verano

Post by Verano »

Some public schools in the Netherlands are starting to be PYP schools. If you’re not picky, I think you will be able to get a job without a problem. My friend who is Dutch told me that since Dutch schools are looking for teachers, it should be easy to find a teaching job.
jboeh2

Post by jboeh2 »

Thanks @Verano

Would the PYP schools be taught in English? I'd prefer an international school where my children could also attend. But with that said, we'd consider all options. I'm assuming the local Dutch school might have other visa procedures.
Heliotrope

Post by Heliotrope »