PGCEi, CT or Teachnow?

Jazz90

PGCEi, CT or Teachnow?

Post by Jazz90 »

Hi everyone !

I know that these topics are spoken about often. I’ve researched and read a lot of Q&As on this forum and others, but I’m still throughly confused !

I have a BSc Hons in Product design from Bristol uni , a CELTA and I’ve been working as an early years class teacher at an International school in Egypt since 2020.
As I don’t have a Bachelor in education or a PGCE, most schools won’t accept me. I thought PGCEi was the way to go as I’m currently not in the UK and recently got accepted to do a PGCEi this September with Sheffield uni. After doing more research, I stumbled upon Teachnow and also read that you can get a initial teaching certificate if you have enough experience. This coming June, I’ll have finished 2 years teaching full time. Does that mean I can apply for a CT straightaway without doing a teachers prep program, and eventually turn it into a QTS? I don’t plan on going back to the UK, but it would be good to have it nonetheless. iQTS doesn’t sound that promising to me. The applications for it aren’t even open yet. They just ask you to leave your details if you’re interested.

My main concern is that the PGCEi takes 60 credits off when I apply for a masters.. I feel a bit hesitant to go with Teachnow as it’s rather expensive and I’m not sure if that’ll help me in the future when I want to do a masters with a UK university. However, most schools care more about a licence than an academic certificate. I’m so confused !!! Can someone please advise me? I would most definitely appreciate it ! Thank you.
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

The CT pathway isnt going to work for you the way you describe, CT will still require you to complete academic coursework in edu. They are also not likely to accept your 2 years (the minimum) experience in your current posting. You would also have to complete testing requirements.