Is one of these two admin licenses somehow preferable than the other?

chemteacher101

Is one of these two admin licenses somehow preferable than the other?

Post by chemteacher101 »

Short story: I want to tick the box of having an admin license. From my understanding, I can get one in Administrative services through Washington DC (I have a Masters, the required teaching experience and can take the required test).

If I'm correct, I could also get a "provisional" Superintendent license through MA, by taking one exam... This,.like the teaching provisional license, would not really expire unless I work in MA.

I'm not looking for the license to be a selling point for me (I have my M.Ed and CSML and experience for that), but rather just want to tick the box. In this context, would one of these licensed be somehow preferable than the other? Or not really?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

It depends which advantages you are more interested in:

The DC credential is a Professional grade leadership credential, its less likely to disappear sometime in the future and has more utility in terms of credibility. However, it must be renewed requiring PD hours, the required exam is much more intensive and focused on leadership knowledge. DC doesnt have an executive level credential (since DC only has one executive level leader) the senior leadership credential is the highest credential.

The MA credential has a much easier exam (its the standard basic English literacy exam). The credential allows the holder to serve in executive leadership roles, but some ISs may delve deeper into the credential and feel that it isnt suitable by itself for senior leadership roles such as principal or assistant principal. However, the credential is an effective lifetime credential and there is no PD requirement.

The DC credential probably has more utility but the MA credential is easier to obtain and maintain. Both check some kind of leadership credentialing box.
chemteacher101