US Citizen - Retirement Saving...?

spartan34

US Citizen - Retirement Saving...?

Post by spartan34 »

Hey everyone,

Im new to international teaching/having a career and I’m curious how people in our profession begin to save for retirement. I’m an American, and I’ve been reading up on starting an IRA/Roth IRA, but seeing as the money I make abroad is counted as a Foreign Earned Income and excluded from being taxed, I’m unable to qualify for any sort of IRA account. Ideally I’d like to begin putting money away in an IRA as I have control over it. I am sure I’ll get advice such as “seek a school that provides retirement/pension” but I’m more so interested in seeing if there’s any way I can personally begin putting money for the long haul.

I’ve read about claiming a foreign tax credit instead of claiming a foreign earned income? That would allow for IRA contributions..? Any Americans who have navigated this field, I’d love to hear from you.

Much appreciated.
sid

Re: US Citizen - Retirement Saving...?

Post by sid »

Stick to the earned income route, and get hold of any of Andrew Hallam’s books. poor Teacher is the first and there is a very recent one as well. Follow him online.
Avoid the sharks that prey in international school waters. “Advisors” who will sell you very expensive “instruments” and “pensions”, with long commitments, complex structures, and no path to riches except for the advisor. If it sounds too good to be true…
sid

Post by sid »

Very strange. The first book is “Mill…ionaire” Teacher. Keeps changing to “poor”. What an odd feature of the forum.
fine dude

Post by fine dude »

Is this the same Andrew Hallam who recommends giving up junk food and invest those expenses in index funds and murky firms based in Dubai? Good on him.
Psychometrika

Post by Psychometrika »

I just use a regular taxable brokerage account at Schwab and put my money in index funds.