Newbie here with questions about . . . well, everything!

gemini

Newbie here with questions about . . . well, everything!

Post by gemini »

Primarily, I'm wondering how likely it is that my hubby and I will be hired somewhere reasonable (according to our own standards, explained below).

He is an administrator with a doctorate, and I am certified K-5. He has 7 years experience, and I have 5. We have registered with Search Associates, and we plan to attend the Cambridge fair.

Of the schools that will be there, about 50 of them are in countries to which we are willing to move. (We have children, and this has made us much more cautious about locations than we would have been before.)

We are especially interested in eastern Europe, China, Korea, and Japan. Are these reasonable location goals for first-timers? What sorts of things can we do to improve our chances?

Oh, and we're Americans in our early 30s with 2 elementary-aged kids, if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance for any guidance! I was very happy to have found this forum. :)
shansar

Post by shansar »

Gemini,
Welcome to the board. I am just getting ready to start teaching Overseas here in a few weeks so I am afraid I won't be much help. I will tell you that you have come to the right place for great advice. These guys are good. At the fair that I went to I was amazed at all of the opportunities out there to teach Overseas. Best of luck to you. :D
peelish

Looking good

Post by peelish »

Gemini,

I have been working in international schools since 1989. I have worked as a single and now as a couple with one child.

Here is what I know:

1. That fact that you have been been accepted by Search Associates is important. They do fairly screen their candidates.
2. You have 2 kids which is the magic number. Any more and your chances go down exponentially.