Questions about timing

Simbenbin

Questions about timing

Post by Simbenbin »

I'm a veteran teacher thinking about teaching internationally, but not until the 24-25 school year. I know that's a long way from now - but I'm a planner.

Is there anything I can or should be doing to prepare before the hiring begins in late 2023?

More specifically, would there be a benefit to becoming a member of ISS, Schrole or Search at this point? Is there any other kind of networking or preparation that might be helpful this far out?

Also, I have lots of experience teaching AP, but none with IB. Is it worth getting an IB teaching and learning certificate (I have 20+ years of experience, a Master's in my field along with state teaching credentials)?

Thanks for any advice.
expatscot

Re: Questions about timing

Post by expatscot »

TBH, not really. Make sure your licenses are up to date, and that you're doing plenty CPD. Keep an eye on these boards, and also on places like TES to get a feel for what jobs are coming though and when - hopefully, by 2023 the market should be something more like normal so you're able to predict what's happening.

You could get the Cat 1 qualification for your subject in IB, but it's not essential ahead of getting a job, and if you do get it I'd leave it until nearer the time so it reflects what you'd be teaching immediately. What I would say is that while your AP experience will be valuable in teaching in an American school, if you want to get into IB then you could look now if an opportunity comes up in an IB school in the US.
sid

Post by sid »

Just be ready by August 2023. Hiring starts mid September these days, so get registered and references and cv etc etc all set up before that. It’s a lot of work to do it right.
PsyGuy

PsyGuy

Post by PsyGuy »