Hawaii license

milovinka

Hawaii license

Post by milovinka »

Hello everyone, I am a music teacher from Serbia, Europe, and I am looking for an international teaching license (or certificate) that I can finish online because I do not have any (I prefer cheap ones :) . I thought about finishing the Moreland university teacher preparation program and then applying for a Hawaii license. I have heard from some people that Hawaii doesn't require Praxis core exams, like other states (DC, Arizona, etc). I tried to send them an email, but they did not answer. Is this true? I have bachelor's and master's degrees, can this count as basic core, so I do not have to do Praxis core (I am bad at math)? Can I actually obtain a Hawaii license online without going there? Thank you
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Moreland University is just the new name for Teach Now.

Yes, There are multiple ways of meeting the HI basic skills requirement. The easiest and most common is by providing transcripts of an earned bachelors degree. This will meet the basic skills requirement and you will not need to complete PRAXIS core or any other tests of basic skills. Non-US degrees will have to be evaluated by a NACES organization for equivalence to a US four year degree. Of the numerous evaluation services SpanTran is often the most advantageous to IT applicants. The most common issue is when applicants have a three year Bachelors degree or their degree does not have a suitable amount of general education coursework (typically the equivalent of 1 year of full time study or a minimum of 30 US credits).

Yes, you can complete the Teach Now program entirely online. You have to have a placement to do your 12 weeks of field experience but you can do that globally.
ILMathTeachr

Re: Hawaii license

Post by ILMathTeachr »