Teaching in Indonesia without a bachelor's degree

EdwardTeach

Teaching in Indonesia without a bachelor's degree

Post by EdwardTeach »

Hi y'all,

I have a question that I keep getting very different answers to, depending on whom I ask. So I was hoping this place could provide me with some clarification.

Over the past several years I've had some on and off teaching experience, but recently I buckled down and obtained my TEFL (120 hr) certificate. I'm currently working on getting my TOEFL and CELTA as well, with the desired objective of being eligible to teach in Indonesia.

The main problem I keep running into is that most online sources state that a Bachelor's degree is absolutely mandatory. I did spend one year at University but never finished it. When asking locals (teachers, students, citizens) they often tell me that this isn't always a requirement and it's possible to get a teacher position without necessarily having a Bachelor's degree.

So my question is whether that's true or not. Am I able to obtain a position with just a TEFL, CELTA and TOEFL certificate? (maybe with additional certification?) Does it merely limit my options (I care very little about salary) or is it absolutely impossible?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Edit:
I don't know whether this makes any sort of difference but I'm currently hovering around B1-B2 level in Bahasa Indonesia, while actively studying to reach A-levels.
chemteacher101

Re: Teaching in Indonesia without a bachelor's degree

Post by chemteacher101 »