Teaching Certification

TeachtoTeach

Teaching Certification

Post by TeachtoTeach »

I'm looking for advice on my next step.

I have a Master of Teaching from Australia but I didn't teach in Australia long enough to receive full registration/certification. I'm now in a position where I have a teaching qualification and several years of experience but no certification which is becoming a barrier at getting into the types of schools I'm now interested in so I'm looking at doing additional study to option a teaching certification in addition to my degree.

Returning to Australia to teach isn't a realistic option and I'm currently working full-time so I'm looking at doing some form of online course. I'm looking at either Moreland's teaching certification which comes with registration in 3 US states or some form of PGCE that will lead to QTS. I think QTS would be more professionally useful but I'm struggling to choose a course that can be completed online which will give me the end-result I'm looking for.

I'd appreciate any advice or guidance.
chemteacher101

Re: Teaching Certification

Post by chemteacher101 »

You could probably use a NACES evaluation (I recommended SpanTran) to get your education recognized in the US, apply for a license in Hawaii and then use that for QTS. That's assuming your master is recognized as a teacher preparation program. What's the specific degree title? Is it considered teacher training?
unsure

Post by unsure »

The best way to get QTS would be for you to do the Assessment Only route (unless you want to go to the UK for a year).
chemteacher101

Post by chemteacher101 »