Where in the World to Start?

Monty

Where in the World to Start?

Post by Monty »

Hello,
I have not yet started on my international teaching path - and I am a bit lost as to where to begin. The advice of those more experienced than myself would be greatly appreciated.

I am a generalist primary school teacher in Western Australia. We wont be moving for a couple of years - but we would like to choose a destination so we can do some research, perhaps learn the language. **It must be somewhere warm

* Which countries/locations have consistently had high demand for English speaking (Australian) teachers?
* What is the average pay scale for teachers in various countries? (not looking to make a fortune, I just need the living expense/pay level to make sense)
* Would I most likely be employed in an international school as opposed to government?
* Do the inclusions vary greatly between countries? - ie. accommodation, flights, health care, school fees for our teenage son etc.
* Would I need to be familiar with the British or International Baccalaureate curriculum? If so, how would I go about achieving this?
* What additional qualifications would help me to stand out from other applicants? I assume a TEFL course would be a good start.

Thanks for any help you can offer :)
expatscot

Re: Where in the World to Start?

Post by expatscot »

So a couple of things first....

You have a teenage son, so you need to think about the timing of doing this. You say in a couple of years - what stage will he be at? Will he be entering at, say, IGCSE (so about 14 or 15) or IBDP (16 or 17)? Like any parent, you want a good education for your son, so I'm assuming this is a priority for you. This does have a bit of a limiting effect, in that the schools you are likely to prefer for him will normally be fairly competitive to get into.