Both sides of a fence

clown

Both sides of a fence

Post by clown »

I am a teacher first and foremost. I have used this site and have posted nice and less than kind, but I hope an honest review of my former school. I will be going to a newer school, where I will be taking up a position of a senior teacher/department head, with responsibilities to coordinate curriculum across the subject area lines. I guess I should not have gotten a Masters in that Unh.... Be that as it may, I can be as negative or as positive as the next guy. Lets face it the staff room always has a lot of whining about something, and yes sometimes I am the one crying in his coffee.

Suggestions for screening and letting my teachers know what the expectations are? I think my boss and I have a good plan to let everyone know what is what. We think we are vetting our candidates well. But some are going to come to us though TIE and ISS, and who knows all the places my boss, who is traveling now to conferences will have to pay to get to meet good people.

I have been at good international schools and have sent people there to get good jobs and they still talk to me, after I got them a job there. And I have been at a school, that has been mixed. The change in management and the non-english speaking owner have been of mixed quality. I am glad I did it, but under the current set up would not recommend that anyone go there.

We have a handbook, a written contract that is explicit, and China regardless of reputation is a nation of laws and they are extensive on education. And I have seen teachers successfully go after a school that screwed them here. Fill out the form and wait. You do not have to be present to win. It will be 6 months to a year if you are not around, but it beats never getting your money. If you are still around it is a 30 to 60 day wait. The difference is the other side can ask for continuousness since you are not there to say foul.