obtaining an additional license

horgathar

obtaining an additional license

Post by horgathar »

Hey Psyguy & the folks with knowledge of licensure pathways,

I am seeking advice on obtaining a license in elementary education. I am currently an elementary teacher at an international school.

I’m from MA and hold an initial license in ESL education (PreK-6). Unfortunately they won’t let you do a provisional in something else after you have an initial. I looked into getting a second initial license, but they make you do another practicum which needs to be with a MA certified teacher, and there is none at my school.

Do all states require you to do a second practicum when obtaining an additional license? Are there states where I could obtain a license in elementary, perhaps by using some kind of reciprocity to transfer my ESL license and then obtain an additional license in elementary through passing exams? How do people obtain second licenses in IE?

By the way, I’m also doing an online masters in elementary ed at Worcester State University—I don’t know if another state would accept that program for licensure preparedness. It does not include a practicum.

I’ll do TeacherReady in Florida if I have to but I want to see if I have other options first.

Finally, how would recruiters consider a candidate for elementary positions who has a few years of experience, but a license in ESL?
PsyGuy

Inquiry

Post by PsyGuy »

1) Are you a US Citizen?
2) How much and what kind of experience do you have?
3) How did you obtain your initial MA credential was it through an EPP/ITT program?
4) Is your primary/elementary teaching experience in PYP?

State DOEs vary, the majority of them typically allow additional endorsements by examination, some, such as some of the MA credentials (IE. Initial) do not and require more involved preparation. Its a small number of DOEs that require an additional EPP/ITT program or additional field experience.
Most ITs add endorsements by examination.