US to England QTS Question

anonteach

US to England QTS Question

Post by anonteach »

I've looked through a lot of the forum threads for this beforehand, but I haven't seen anyone matching my situation so I figured I'd make my own thread.
I am a first year teacher in Hawai'i. I attended school on the east coast of the US, and received a double bachelor's in history and secondary education. I currently have a provisional license (NASDTEC Level 2).

When I look online I see this from Hawaii DoE website: What does “fully licensed” mean? Hawaii’s Provisional, Standard or Advanced licenses are considered full state licensure for the purposes of ESSA.

Do I need to teach for three years and get the "professional" license (NASDTEC Level 3) before this equates to a QTS?

If it doesn't equate now, should I move to Maryland and get a position and a "full license" there?

Or should I apply to one of the teacher training courses that would involve me going to school in the UK? If I were to go that route, how likely are they to accept an American citizen, and what are the chances I get one of the "QTS with salary" positions?

I appreciate any help, thank you all for your time :)
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

How did you qualify for the HI Provisional (entry grade) credential? You had to have completed either an EPP/ITT program, or obtained a provisional credential, or some serendipity happened and someone at HTSB thought your major in edu meant you had competed an EPP program.

"Fully Licensed" means that you have a "regular" credential that authorizes you to provide instructional services in the regulated KS/K12 edu system. That the credential is inclusive in scope, without limitation or restrictions within the scope of the duties inscribed on the certificate and was obtained independently of any enjoined sponsorship or term and is not contingent on other factors.