Professor Career Changer

memory1

Professor Career Changer

Post by memory1 »

Hello all,

I am new to the site. I teach college humanities and I'm hoping to make a change to IS teaching. My reason for making the change is: I'm not on the tenure-track, probably won't get on it, and want more stable employment so that I can provide for my family. I'm a UK citizen, working in the US on a visa. My contract expires next summer, along with my visa and I'll have to leave the US at that time. I have a US MA and PhD, both from an elite private R1 (HYPS), and 5 years of full-time teaching experience at UG liberal arts colleges. I enjoy teaching and I think I'm decent at it. But I have very little exposure to school-aged students and I know that teaching them is not the same as teaching college. But I am serious about committing to a career change. I'll do what it takes and I'm willing to learn from others.

I've gathered solid references from my former and current supervisors who are aware I'm making this career change and will back me. I'd like to know what I can do to improve my chances of finding work at a decent school. I'm open to almost anywhere in the world. By decent, I mean a non-profit school where working conditions are tolerable and pay and benefits, initially at least, are sufficient to support a family. I have some savings that I can dip into for a year or two but probably not much longer. I have a non-teaching spouse and a baby. My spouse will be home with our child for the foreseeable future.

I can't create experience that I don't have but obtaining certification seems to be one thing that I can add to my resume. I've read posts here about the doctoral route to Missouri initial certification. I wrote to them to ask if my PhD will be accepted and am waiting to hear back. I'd appreciate any insights into the following questions: