chances in Europe

jboeh2

chances in Europe

Post by jboeh2 »

I am considering a move to teaching in Europe (preferably Holland). I have been teaching internationally for 7 years (and 3 years in New York State). I am General and Special Ed certified in the primary years. I have experience in PYP and the British & American curriculum. I also have a Master's degree.

My wife and 2 kids are dependents, though hold US and Dutch passports. Would them being Dutch citizens make a difference on permits/my chances of landing a job? I only hold a US passport. I am aware some schools mention that they only accept candidates who hold permits to work in the EU. In one sense, I'd like to get my foot in the door to gain EU residency to allow more options to work/live in Europe in the future.

I am aware taxes are higher and we'll be taking a pay cut. Being in Holland, or another EU country, my wife could work (as she's now a dependent).

What are your thoughts/suggestions for getting into a EU school? I am currently re-joining Search (as I've used them before with success).

Many thanks
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

Does it have to be the 2 provinces that comprise Holland, or can it be the Netherlands in general?
Do you speak Dutch?

SA isnt going to help you much anyway. Youre basically looking at a number of ISs on the circuit you can count on one hand.
Well yes their Dutch passports will help them, the IS wont have to get them visas, but you absolutely need to get Dutch citizenship. Im assuming youve been married the requisite 3 years since you have two kids together?