Advice for a college student

Skelda

Advice for a college student

Post by Skelda »

Hi everyone!

First of all, thank you all so much for your contributions to this forum. It's really a tremendous resource. I've been lurking for a few years now, and I've found it very helpful.

I'm currently a college student, and I'm due to graduate this coming May with an MA in English. I already earned my BA in English Secondary Education last winter, and I have a CEAS from the state of NJ.

Through my university's "global student teaching" program I had two different placements: one at a DS in NJ and the other at an IS in SE Asia. I'm hoping that this can be an asset.

I'm very much aware that most ISs prefer 2+ years of experience, which obviously I don't have. All I have is my student teaching and some tutoring experience. I'm also aware that the hiring season for 21-22 will be unusual due to COVID-19, that English Literature is a particularly competitive subject, and that ISs typically don't have as many resources for new teachers as DSs.

Finding a job in NJ in my subject is competitive too, however, and it's very possible that I will be unable to find a job here unless I move, at which point I would rather work at an IS. Even if I do get a job in the states, it's most likely to be at a Title I school or a long-term sub position. International teaching is my end goal, so I don't especially want to teach in DE any more than I must.