What are my chances?

TCH12

What are my chances?

Post by TCH12 »

Just found this forum -- what a terrific resource! Thanks to all who contribute.

I'm on the verge of making some big life decisions, but thought I'd reach out for some advice before I do something stupid. I'll try keep it brief (points bulleted, for ease of reading):

- I'm a 35 year old South African male
- BA degree in Media, with a major in English Literature
- I've been teaching ESL in Korean public schools for the past 5 years
- Married to a Korean national (we have a young daughter)
- Teaching ESL in Korea is hardly a 'career'
- Considering returning to South Africa for a year so I can do my PGCE (specializations will be 1. English as a Home Language, and 2. the Creative Arts (art, drama, etc.)
- Hoping to join the IS circuit as an English teacher, directly after doing the PGCE

Does this sound at all doable? I have enough money saved to support my family while I'm studying for the PGCE, but that's about it. As far as I can tell, my biggest obstacle will be a lack of experience teaching English as a first language (my experience teaching ESL in Korea will count for naught, surely.)

I would happily find a post in South Africa to build up the necessary experience, but there's no way I'd be able to support my family on the pittance that is a South African teacher's salary.

It seems a bit of a catch-22 that practically all IS schools demand a minimum of two years experience (usually in an IB setting). How can one gain experience sans eligibility? Is there a way of breaking into the scene that I'm not aware of? I'm definitely not expecting to be hired by a top-tier school right away. But I'd like to get there by the time I'm 40.

So how would you approach things? Huge thanks in advance, to all who advise :)
Heliotrope

Re: What are my chances?

Post by Heliotrope »

Have you considered Teach Now to get certified?