Opportunities in South Korea?

Alseoul

Opportunities in South Korea?

Post by Alseoul »

Hello,

Background: I’m a British ESL teacher in Seoul. My undergraduate degree was Finance + Law, but I have been teaching in public schools in Korea for the past 5 years. I have no teaching qualifications beyond a 120-hour TESOL certificate. I’m married to a Korean and I have an F6 visa. My Korean language abilities are intermediate.

Goal: Our plan is to stay in Korea for at least the next 2~4 years, move back to the UK for a few years before deciding where we will permanently live. I’d like to upgrade from public schools to an international school or university while I’m here.

Problem: Most international schools ask for certification + 2 years teaching experience in a foreign school system. Most universities ask for a Masters + 2 years teaching experience at a university level, or a PhD.

Potential solutions

1. Gain teaching certification from TeachNow.
Pros: I can get certification quickly and start applying for IS jobs.
Cons: According to PsyGuy’s posts, UK QTS status may be hard to get by the time I finish the course. It would result in DC certification, and as I’m British it may be looked askance at. It’s also quite expensive.

2. Study a distance learning PGCE (at Leeds Beckett).
Pros: While it does not award QTS status, I have seen some people claim that they only needed to show their PGCE at the recruitment stage and that QTS was assumed by the recruiter. It’s quite cheap at £2167. It’s British and the award makes no mention of it being online. It gives 60 credits towards a Masters degree if I wish to pursue that later.
Cons: It’s not teaching certification, and it’s not a Masters, so it may not actually improve my chances at all!

3. Just start a distance learning Masters degree.
Pros: It could lead to eventual university jobs. It can also lead to a PhD.