Housing for families in Asia

kellysensei

Housing for families in Asia

Post by kellysensei »

I'm wondering what kind of housing is generally available for families in any of the following countries:

Taiwan
South Korea
Thailand
Malaysia

(I'm already familiar with housing in Japan.) My family is planning to move overseas in July 2021 to one of those countries (or Japan) and we're trying to plan for what housing might be like. As in, what is the typical monthly rent for a 2- or 3- bedroom apartment? Is rent usually covered, or partly covered, by schools in those countries? What is a typical apartment size/type - 2 bedrooms? 3? More or less than 800 sq feet (75 sq meters)? Are there any schools I should be aware of that absolutely do not allow pets? We'll be bringing our two cats, and that is non-negotiable.

Thanks for any insight!
(For what it's worth, I'm a licensed ESL teacher with a Master's degree and 13 years experience; my husband will get his TEFL certificate and teach online or at a conversation school, at least at first; and our two sons will be 11 and 9 at the time of moving.)
PsyGuy

Reponse

Post by PsyGuy »

This is hard to say, how long is a piece of string. Youre asking to compare and quote for entire countries. BKK vs. Chiang Mai,etc. There is a lot of range across a country.

2/3LDKs are available. KL and Seoul are going to be more pricey across comparable properties than BKK or Taipei.

Most ISs will provide you a housing benefit of some kind, based on your family an allowance is probably more likely, especially as you emphasis a 3LDK. ISs tend to have revolving leases, and larger apartments/flats are generally fewer in an ISs housing portfolio. This means with an allowance depending on what you want, you might have to go into your pocket to cover housing costs, this is less likely the higher the ISs tier.

Pets arent usually an IS issue, its an immigration and a property owner issue.