Most Marketable Specialization for Music Teachers?

nycgtr

Most Marketable Specialization for Music Teachers?

Post by nycgtr »

I get that this a pretty niche series of questions.

I'm a music teacher currently teaching k-8 general music in the states. I'm going to be pursuing state certification next year, with the hope of going abroad (ideally to non-china Asia, in a Middle or High School teaching position) the following year.

I'm going to be meeting with my graduate advisor soon, and in addition to picking up general music, voice production and choral conducting classes, have access to string, wind and brass method classes, with the corresponding large ensemble conducting class (orchestra for strings, band for winds/brass).

The program I'm attending is designed to give you an appealing skillset and network for getting hired at a NYC department of education school with an established music program, or if you essentially win the lottery a public school in the suburbs.

Pragmatically, the choice is going to either be specializing in low strings (eg: getting cello or bass up the level of a good 11th grader, and being able to play the other strings like a middle schooler) and orchestra or low brass (getting tuba or euphonium up to the level of a good 11th grader and learning to play the other wind and brass instruments like an elementary schooler, because there are significantly more).

My undergrad degree is in jazz guitar, and I spent my first 4 years out of college performing professionally and teaching privately.