Getting Thai Tax Refund

brillo

Getting Thai Tax Refund

Post by brillo »

Hi All

Has anyone managed to get their tax back in thailand? If so, how did you do it?

There are a number of companies online that will do it for you, but they want up to 50% of what they get back (around 4k GBP!)

I'm looking at doing it myself. Has anyone managed it? Or can anyone recommend a company that works and takes a smaller cut?

Thanks in advance
BM12

Re: Getting Thai Tax Refund

Post by BM12 »

Hi Brillo,

I am in my 2nd year here in Thailand and will be leaving so I am in the process of doing it. Based on recommendations of (mostly British) teachers, I made contact with Stephen Dann (you can find some info on him on TES forums too). He has his website here: http://www.siamtaxtreaties.com/ or you can send me a pm if you want his email address.

Basically, he is a British guy, been here for over forty years and has been doing tax refunds for years apparently. Total fees are 110.000 THB plus VAT. There are some shady people doing it for less it seems, but he came well recommended by ex teachers from different schools (Brighton, Shrewsbury and one teacher at my current school).

Met up with him a few months ago for a face to face, paid a deposit and signed a contract. If for some reason the tax refund does not work, he pays back the deposit. All in all an decent experience and will see in a few months how it turned out. But I have faith that it will be fine.
buffalofan

Post by buffalofan »

I got mine back for the last year I worked in Thailand, but this was well over a decade ago so who knows what it is like now.

My school organized it, but I had to go back to Thailand in person to collect the refund check from my school. No other way was possible. I then walked across the street and deposited the check into my Thai bank account, which I had kept alive for this.