Teaching International Schools in China

Bears123

Teaching International Schools in China

Post by Bears123 »

Hi,
I only have substitute teaching experience in Hong Kong. I have a Bachelor in Finance from Uni-of-Oregon. I want to work for an international school in Shenzhen.
Currently, I am living in the US, and I am working full-time in an unrelated field.
I am deciding whether to get a Teach-Now certificate or pursuit an M.Edu from Southern Oregon University. I have to choose either one because I have limited resources and time.
When it comes to teaching in China, does have a US teacher license matter?
Which one is more useful? A US teacher license or M.Edu?
mamava

Re: Teaching International Schools in China

Post by mamava »

At most decent schools, the license matters. The schools require it because it (ideally) demonstrates a level of proficiency and capacity professionally-speaking. It's also often needed in order to get a visa to work in a country. You'll be far more marketable in the long run with the teaching certificate.
scooter93

Post by scooter93 »

Consider doing an M.A.T. instead of an M.Ed. The M.A.T. is for people without a teaching degree. MAT is usually taken for career changers or people who recently graduated with a degree in a specific content area (i.e. history, English, etc.) and want to become teachers. The M.Ed is usually for people who are already teachers.
Bears123

Post by Bears123 »

I cannot attend in-person classes. Many M.A.T. programs include in-person classes. Some M.Ed can be earned totally online. I have multiple citizenships, so I can work in China without a visa. I want to know is getting a US teacher license useful? I want to save time. Should I skip Teach-now, and pursuit my M.Edu?
scooter93

Post by scooter93 »

i think getting the teaching license is your best bet
Bears123

Post by Bears123 »

Why is getting a US teacher license is the best bet?
shadowjack

Post by shadowjack »

Bears123,