Saying No Politely

schoolofrock

Saying No Politely

Post by schoolofrock »

I'm new to the job search process. If I get an interview offer from a school that I don't want to go to, how do I politely say no?
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

"Thank you for your invitation, regrettably at this time I am deeply involved in pursuing other opportunities."

OR

"Thank you, but I am not available for an interview at this time."

OR

"Thanks, not interested."

OR

You can just ignore the invitation and hit the delete button.
Heliotrope

Re: Saying No Politely

Post by Heliotrope »

Dear .....,

I'd like to thank you for the invitation to interview.
However, after careful consideration I decided not to pursue a position at your school.

Sincerely,

Doctor

Post by Doctor »

Since you are new to international school teaching let me tell you: accept all interviews and sign all contracts. Its the ABCs of international school teaching: Always Be signing Contracts.
sid

Post by sid »

Be as polite and forthcoming with them as you hope schools will be when you contact them. Not every school nor every candidate lives up to this ideal, and you have the choice which group to side with.
Dear Ms Recruiter,
I am honored that you feel my candidacy is worth exploring. At this time, however, I am focusing on positions in.... (insert your choice of regions, curricula, niche philosophies, niche positions, whatever).
You can phrase it in such a way that the door can be opened again if it gets late in the season and your focus widens.
Never slam a door in this tiny world of international education. You never know which school will become of interest, or which recruiter will move someplace more interesting to you.