Best options?

Alchemeister

Best options?

Post by Alchemeister »

Hi everyone. I'm new to the site. I just realized I may have posted this in the wrong forum so I’m reposting it here.
About me:
- I'm from Michigan.
- I have been teaching English in Japan for 8 years.
- I am currently teaching my own classes at a private girls' secondary school.
- My degree is in Communications.
- No certificates.
-Married with one kid.

I want to improve my teaching skills/get a higher qualification. I want to study something that will improve my salary/credentials in Japan, but I also want to be able to find a job when/if I go back to America. The best option would be a MAT in TESOL but I haven't found any that you can do from over seas / are affordable. 3 questions.

1. What is that fastest way for someone in my situation to get a teaching certification in the states which I could then transfer to get a Michigan teaching license or transfer to get a QTS?

2. Which Masters would give me the most practical knowledge in terms of English teaching.

3. Which of these two things would I be better off focusing on first?

Thank you for any insight, I've already learned a lot from this forum.
PsyGuy

Reponse

Post by PsyGuy »

The fastest would be to complete the Teach Ready program, which takes 9 months and costs about USD$6K. Assuming you do that relatively soon you should be able to use the FL Professional (professional grade) credential to get QTS through mutual reciprocity. You would also be able to transfer it to Michigan.
You can however start with something like the MA provisional credential in ESOL while youre working on another credential or qualification route. You cant use it for QTS or for a Michigan credential but it requires only two exams and an application.

Which ever Masters has the most opportunity for internships or practicum experience.
Temple has a program in Japan that offers a MA in TESOL, its pricey though (they just moved to a new shared campus).