Marketability and dogs

Sgphilli85

Marketability and dogs

Post by Sgphilli85 »

I have some typical and one atypical question/s.

The typical is this: I’m a Board Certified HS Math Teacher with 6 years teaching experience in the States. I have a Masters in Teaching with endorsements in Math and ELL. I’m interested in teaching at an International School and have no experience thus far with teaching internationally but have done some traveling that I can point to. I’ve heard that for your first international school job you can’t count on getting a job in a “good location” or at a “good school.” I’m not sure what this means exactly as locations that are good/interesting for me might not be the same as they are for someone else. I’m most interested in South America and Southeast Asia (ex: Columbia, Peru, Thailand, Vietnam with a few other scattered countries that interest me like Spain and maybe South Africa). Can someone explain the types of job I should expect to be able to land and help me understand the distinction between opportunities I might expect to be open or not open to me based on my experience? Also, I like the idea of an international school best, but are there other options I should/could consider for finding a job internationally teaching math?