Online or 'blended' masters degrees?

TeacherGal

Online or 'blended' masters degrees?

Post by TeacherGal »

I have a masters degree in education which was completed entirely online but would like to pursue another one. My understanding is that a masters degrees done face to face on campus makes one more marketable than one completed online. I have heard of some which are a combination, I think the term is 'blended'. Would completing a blended masters degree make a teacher that much more marketable than completing one done entirely online? If so, are there any recommended institutions offering blended masters degrees in education?
wrldtrvlr123

Re: Online or 'blended' masters degrees?

Post by wrldtrvlr123 »

Other opinions may differ but I would say that it does not really matter all that much whether your masters is online, face to face or blended. I have a masters that was totally online but you would not know it from looking at my diploma or transcripts (unless there is some secret code that I am unaware of) and it never was an issue that stopped me (or was even mentioned) from getting any of my jobs or obtaining a visa.

If it concerns you, then make sure you go with a university that has a brick and mortar component and is not just/primarily an online entity. (e.g. U. of Phoenix).

In general, it seems like where you obtained your degree from does not matter that much unless it happens to be from a very elite school, is from a school recognized for that particular field and/or someone in the interview process also went there.
sid

Post by sid »

Agreed.
One extra point. There are a very limited number of places that don’t recognize online degrees. However they don’t have a system to really know how a degree was earned. Something from U of Phoenix is a dead giveaway, but who would know if you used online courses at a uni that is more typically face to face?
shadylane

Post by shadylane »