Teach-Now Master's in Education

Andjelika

Teach-Now Master's in Education

Post by Andjelika »

I'm an experienced Economics/Business teacher (6 years of international teaching experience, HOD, bachelor's and master's degree in Economics and US teaching license) who has completed Teach-Now certification program last year. We are considering moving from China to Europe or Emirates, and wish to build up our resumes as much as possible before we leave. There is an opportunity for me to get Master's in Education in just 16 weeks as an extension of the certification program I completed with Teach-Now. It wouldn't be that demanding, and it might make a difference when applying for my next job (or not?!).

Anyway, I heard from a friend of mine that the school he was working was questioning the master's degree he got from Teach-Now as "it's not a degree from university", while the other schools he applied for had no problem with it. I was wondering if anybody heard about any similar experience with this program. I wouldn't mind completing and paying for it if it's going to be accepted and recognized, but if that's not the case why bothering?...
PsyGuy

Response

Post by PsyGuy »

How do you feel about grey areas?

So Teach Nows Educator school of education isnt a complete diploma mill they are accredited by DEAC which is a non-regional accrediting body thats listed by the US DOE. So thats the main grey area. They arent a university, but they also have CAEP accreditation, which really isnt accreditation but approval by their organization for the Teach Now credentialing program, which doesnt apply to the Masters program, nor do any of their other organizational affiliations, so more grey area.

Ive posted on this before so to save you a lengthy read, Ill get to the substance:
1) Teach Now isnt a university, not by any definition other than possibly their own.